Meet our Newly Expanded Research Advisory Board

Giving away money isn’t as easy as you may think! Our migraine research grants are awarded based on their innovation, feasibility and impact. They cover subjects like genetics, migraine in kids, brain circuitry, imaging, pharmacology, behavioral science, and many more. Grant applications are complicated and very technical.

We receive grant requests from researchers around the world and rely on the experts on our Research Advisory Board to vet them. We recently expanded the RAB to ensure we have a deep bench for most subjects.

We’re thrilled to introduce you to the 2019 MRF Research Advisory Board:


Joel R. Saper, MD (Emeritus, Founding Chair) Michigan Headache & Neurological Institute, Ann Arbor

Jessica Ailani, MD Georgetown University, Washington, DC

Simon Akerman, PhD University of Maryland, Baltimore

Anna Andreou, PhD The Headache Centre, Kings College, London, UK

Messoud Ashina, MD, PhD, DMSc Danish Headache Center, Glostrup

Serapio Baca, PhD University of Colorado, Aurora

Emily Bates, PhD University of Colorado, Aurora

K. C. Brennan, MD University of Utah, Salt Lake City

Rami Burstein, PhD Harvard University, Boston, MA

F. Michael Cutrer, MD Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN

Greg Dussor, PhD University of Texas at Dallas

Fred Freitag, DO Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee

Amy Gelfand, MD University of California San Francisco

Lyn Griffiths, PhD Queensland University of Technology, Australia

Brian Grosberg, MD Hartford Healthcare Headache Center, West Hartford, CT

Andrew Hershey, MD, PhD Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center, OH

Elizabeth Loder, MD, MPH Brigham and Women’s Faulkner Hospital, Boston, MA

Mia Minen, MD, MPH New York University Langone, New York

Jelena Pavlovic, MD, PhD Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Bronx, NY

Frank Porreca, PhD University of Arizona, Tucson

Scott Powers, PhD Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center, OH

Patricia Pozo-Rosich, MD, PhD Vall d’Hebron University Hospital, Barcelona, Spain

Amynah Pradhan, PhD University of Illinois at Chicago

Theodore Price, PhD University of Texas at Dallas

Ana Recober, MD In transition

Elizabeth Seng, PhD Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Bronx, NY

Todd Schwedt, MD Mayo Clinic, Phoenix, AZ

Todd Smitherman, PhD University of Mississippi, Oxford

Patric Stanton, PhD New York Medical College, Valhalla

Christina Szperka, MD, MSCE Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, PA